• 1- 869-466-2998
  • info@sknfa.com

Conaree F.C outplays newtown to win their first FA Cup title.

Basseterre, St. Kitts- History has been made once again with Conaree FC claiming the first ever FA Cup title.

The first half of the match was rather upbeat as both teams attempted to score pretty early. Conaree F.C kept pressing however, until eventually Glenroy Samuel found the back of the net in only the 7th minute of play. The first half ended 1-0 in favour of Conaree but Newtown were by no means letting them claim the game this easily.

Eight minutes into the second half, Oldain Powell dribbled into the box and went down. Penalty was the call made by the referee and it was Powell himself that delivered when his team needed him. After thirty-seven minutes of regular time the game remained tied at 1-1. Thirty-five minute of extra time did not help the cause as neither teams were able to score within the allotted time.

The game then went down to a penalty shootout, it was now anybody’s game. Zevon Archibald was the first player up for Delphic Newtown United and he did not disappoint. Errol O’loughlin stepped up for Conaree and scored his penalty. Ian Lake then stepped up and scored his penalty and so did Andy Samuel of Conaree. Shahshi Isaac Isaac converted his penalty and then Byon Morson followed suit. Kennedy Isles was up next and he banged the ball against the crossbar. Mudassa Howe of Conaree got Conaree one step closer to the title with his goal. Keithroy Richards scored his penalty but it was too late, now Glenroy Samuel stepped up and for the second time that day beat Akil Byron to secure his team’s title.

Yellow Cards for the match were given to Marvin Charles (Conaree) 14th minute, Mudassa Howe (Conaree) 24th minute, Malivia Harris,(Newtown) 63rd minute, Kadeem Lewis (Conaree) 75th minute, Shawn Martin (Conaree) 76th minute and Shashi Isaac (Newtown) 90th minute.

Congratulation Conaree on your title!

Leave a Reply