• 1- 869-466-2998
  • info@sknfa.com

Newtown United to Participate in CFU Club Championship

Newtown United will be hosting the professional team Caledonia AIA of Trinidad & Tobago in the Caribbean Football Union Club Championship on March 10th 2011 in St Kitts with an 8:00pm kick off time. Newtown United is the current champions of the St Kitts Nevis Football Association which qualified the team to participate in the Caribbean Club Football tournament. This will be the first time in several years that a club from St Kitts and Nevis will be competing in the new tournament format.

The tournament is scheduled to begin on March 9th and continues until the Finals in Trinidad and Tobago on May 29th 2011. The teams will play a home and away game over the period with matches scheduled on selected weekends.

Newtown United will travel to Trinidad and Tobago during the weekend of 18-20th March for the away game. The exact date has not been determined for the match in Trinidad & Tobago.

Newtown United last participated in a Club Championship in 1994 the then American Airlines Caribbean Club Championship. The club advanced to the semi finals stage but was eliminated by the US Roberts FC of Martinique. The decision to participate in tournament was made by the Newtown United Club and is welcomed by the St Kitts Nevis Football Association.

There are 15 teams competing in the tournament. The teams include Newtown United FC-St Kitts Nevis, Defense Force & Caledonia AIA-Trinidad & Tobago, Western Stars Bermuda, River Plate FC & Puerto Rico Islander-Puerto Rico, Bodden Town FC- Cayman Islands, Bathestate FC-Dominica, Tempete FC-Haiti, Nothern United Allstars-St Lucia, S.V. Walking Boyz Co & Intermoengotapoe S.V.–Suriname, Milerock FC & Alpha United-Guyana, Bassa Sports Club-Antigua

Newtown United FC Profile
Source: Wikepedia.com
Newtown United FC was originally called Zip Tide Football Team and was formed with Leroy Ponteen and Earl Clarke among the early movers and shakers to ensure participation in the Third (3rd) Division. Zip Tide secured its first win in its first game and won the Third Division to get promoted to the Second (2nd) Division under that name in 1973 before changing to their current name. The team’s name was changed to Newtown United to encourage wider community supporters and a more representative team. They were then relegated back to the Third Division but regained their Second Division place and were promoted to the top level in 1975 after beating Superstars 2-1 in a playoff.
Saint Kitts and Nevis Premier Division: 15
1981, 1984, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1992, 1993, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2003-04, 2006-07, 2007-08, 2009-10
Saint Kitts and Nevis National Cup: 1
Leeward Islands Club Champions Tournament: 3
1987, 1988, 1989
The club represented St. Kitts in St. Martin and won the championships three (3) consecutive years 1987 -1988 -1989 without losing a single game. Winning 7 and drawing 1 in the eight (8) games that were played. Three (3) in 1987, Three (3) in 1988 and Two (2) in 1989.

Performance in CONCACAF competitions
1994: CONCACAF Champions’ Cup 1 appearance
First Stage – Away – Newtown Utd 0 – 0 Villa Lions (Antigua)
– Home – Newtown Utd 2 – 1 Villa Lions (Antigua)
Second Stage – Away – Newtown Utd 2 – 0 Sithoc (Curacao )
– Away – Newtown Utd 1 – 0 Sithoc (Curacao )
Third Stage – Away – Newtown Utd 0 – 4 US Roberts (Martinique)
– Away – Newtown Utd 0 – 0 US Roberts (Martinique)
1994 – Third Round (Caribbean) – Lost against US Roberts 4 – 0 on aggregate (stage 4 of 7)

Source: Wikepedia.com
CFU Club Championship
The CFU Club Championship is the annual international football competition held amongst association football clubs from the Caribbean Islands for clubs that are members of the Caribbean Football Union.
The Competition was founded in 1997 and has been won by Jamaica, Trinidad and Tobago and Puerto Rico.
The Competition is open to the leading domestic club teams in the region. The winners of each national league qualify automatically. Many member countries do not send a representative team. The winner of this competition as well as the first and second runners-up will advance to the CONCACAF Champions League in the preliminary round.

Leave a Reply